Visiting National College will give you an opportunity to experience the college, learn about our programs and areas of study. Complete the information request form or call
888-980-9156 today to schedule your campus tour. >> Schedule now

Congresswoman Urges Graduates to “Go Out and Make Their Difference in the World”

Jul 07, 2014

On Friday, May 16 the South Bend Campus held its third graduation ceremony at the Kroc Community Center with Congresswoman Jackie Walorski as the commencement speaker.  She serves the people of Indiana’s Second District in the 113th Congress and serves on the committees of House Armed Services, Budget, and Veterans’ Affairs.

Inspired to get more involved in the education system, Congresswoman Walorski worked as a development director for local colleges and universities to improve educational access for Hoosier students.  She provided two examples of individuals who have met and exceeded challenges; a local retired fireman who has a baseball park named after him for his many years of silently doing good work with less fortunate children; and an unassuming woman in D.C. who as a forensic scientist in a small Washington office was able to identify from finger prints more than 30 Middle East terrorists who have been convicted of their crimes because of her findings.  Both have made a difference in the lives of many and with that Congresswoman Walorski challenged the graduates to “go out and make their difference in the world”.  She commended the graduates on how far they have come, how confident they have become, and how much they have accomplished since first walking through the doors of American National University.

The Class of 2014, made up of 35 graduates, accepted their diplomas and degrees from Congresswoman Walorski, Tina Bonne, the current campus director, and John Herman, South Bend’s first campus director. 

Several graduates also received awards:  Letoya Bradshaw, Achievement Award; Chereka Fox, Leadership Award; Brenda Smith, E.M. Coulter Award; Vianey Velazquez, Mary P. McGurn Award for medical office administration; Stacia Michalak, Joseph E. Hurn Award for business administration-management; Paula Frison, the M. A. Smyth Award for computer science; and Sharon Schafer, the Alumni Hall of Achievement Award. 

A-Congresswoman Jackie Walorski gave the commencement address for  the South Bend Campus.

B-Graduates of the South Bend Campus who received degrees.

Visit IN-South Bend  on Facebook

tags: IN-South Bend